Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: Second phase of voting in Bihar ends, 51.99 percent voting till 6 pm


Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: Second phase of voting in Bihar ends, 51.99 percent voting till 6 pmPhoto Credits: PTI

Patna: Under the second phase of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020, 51.99 percent polling was done in 94 assembly constituencies till 6 pm. This information was given by the Chief Electoral Officer Office. As part of the second phase of Bihar assembly elections, polling began at seven in the morning amidst tight surveillance and strong security arrangements, following the prescribed norms of avoiding Kovid-19 in 94 assembly seats in 17 districts of the state.

These 94 assembly constituencies fall in 17 districts of West Champaran, East Champaran, Shivhar, Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Darbhanga, Muzaffarpur, Gopalganj, Siwan, Saran, Vaishali, Samastipur, Begusarai, Khagaria, Bhagalpur, Nalanda and Patna.

Read this also. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: Shatrughan Sinha filled his heart, said – Tejaswi’s critics will be ‘silent’ on 10 November.

Polling was completed at 4 pm in Kusheshwarsthan and Goudaburam in Darbhanga district, Meenapur, Paru and Sahebganj in Muzaffarpur, Raghopur in Vaishali district and Aloli and Beldour in Khagadia district.

The voting time in the second phase was the normal time (from 07:00 AM to 06:00 PM) but the time was changed on the above seats. According to information received from the Chief Electoral Officer’s office, 41,362-41,362 sets of EVMs and VVPATs have been arranged for polling with the deployment of paramilitary forces at all polling stations for fair and peaceful polling. All the precautionary steps have been taken regarding compliance of Kovid-19 guidelines under Bihar Assembly Election.

A total of 1,463 candidates are in the fray in this phase, including 146 women and one transgender candidate, for which a total of 2,85,50,285 voters will be able to use their votes.

The main candidates in the second phase are the Chief Ministerial candidate of the opposition Grand Alliance, Tejashwi Yadav from Raghopur and his elder brother Tej Pratap Yadav from Hasanpur.

Apart from Road Construction Minister and BJP MLA Nandkishore Yadav (Patna Sahib), JDU MLA and Rural Development Minister Shravan Kumar (Nalanda), BJP MLA and Cooperation Minister Rana Randhir Singh (Madhuban) and JDU Leader and Minister of State Ramsevak Singh (Hathua) Are in the election field. Love Sinha, son of Congress leader Shatrughan Sinha from Bankipur seat of Patna, is also trying his political fortune in this phase. He will primarily compete with BJP MLA Nitin Nabin.

(This is an unedited and auto-generated story from a syndicated news feed, there is a possibility that it has not been changed or edited by the latest staff)

Leave a Reply